Skip to content

knitroglycerine

a different kind of string theory

Since L’s been all low-carb, low-sugar lately, there’s been a dearth of baked goods about the house. Iso and I finally got the undeniable hankering for some cookies the other day, and last night we made some. It was such a primal desire for hot cookie action that I didn’t even bother to use a cookbook. I totally winged it, and Iso helped. They turned out superwell, so the purpose of this post is to remind me what I did so that I can do it again.

Cookies were definitely harmed in the making of this blog.

Brown Sugar Lemon Cookies

Cream together:

1 stick softened butter (I prefer salted.)

3/4 c. brown sugar (I prefer dark brown.)

Then mix in:

1 capful of vanilla extract (Has anybody else found that alcohol free extract is kind of blah?)

1 egg

Slowly stir in:

2 c. flour (I used all purpose white, this time.)

1 T. baking powder

And when that’s well mixed, incorporate as much flour as you need to make the cookie dough rollable. For me, this was one more cup. We rolled the dough out, about 1/4 inch thick, then baked at 375 for 10 minutes. After they cooled off, we frosted them.

Lemon Frosting

2 c. powdered sugar

2 drops red food coloring

1 capful of lemon extract (For a fresher lemon flavor, toss in some lemon zest and/or replace some of or all of the milk with lemon juice.)

1 t. soft butter

a bit of milk

Stir until it’s the right consistency, then ice the cooled cookies.

Because we used dark brown sugar, they came out a little caramelesque. And because we used all-purpose white they came out very delicate and crumbly, like a lighter version of shortbread. Naturally, if you use a heavier wheat flour, you’ll get a denser cookie, or a whiter sugar will produce just a plain sweet cookie, but it will still be tasty.

I think this recipe made about two dozen, but we were so crazed for cookies that I really have no idea anymore. It was like a cookie massacre around here.

Tags:

