Skip to content

knitroglycerine

a different kind of string theory

I’m not sure if I have taken the easy route, or not. After looking at a ton of cardigan patterns, I decided I didn’t want to invest Big Buck$ in awesome yarn that I’d probably knit into something atrocious. After all, it’s my first article of clothing that isn’t a scarf or a necker. That’s a huge commitment!

So, I am returning to the tried and true– Stitch N’ Bitch.

Best Knitting Book EVER

There is a cardigan pattern in here that was too difficult for me when I first started knitting. It looked SO hard back then! But now that I’ve got a few patterns under my belt, and I know how to increase and decrease with ease, and can even do some laces, I took another look at the Go Everywhere cardigan. It requires no double-pointeds (which are still my nemesis. I’ll get you yet, you pointy little so and so’s!). You just knit pieces, then sew it all up!

As I’ve been poking around into all kinds of sweater patterns, I can see that the vogue is for sweaters that you knit in one piece. I’m not sure why that’s such a big deal, because as far as I can see, it’s not actually all that convenient. It requires a lot more counting and usually ( those dratted things again!) DPNs, and you can’t really tell what you’re knitting until you’re almost done. That’s what it seems like, anyway.

But with this pattern, you knit the back, then bind off. Knit two fronts, bind off. Knit the sleeves, bind off. Sew together, then crochet a trim around the whole shebang. I can do that!

I’ve even, true to form, changed the pattern up a bit and knit a two inch garter stitch around the bottom so that it doesn’t flip up. I’m using some cream fisherman’s wool I got from Jo-Ann, so if it doesn’t work out, it’s no big deal about the yarn, and I’ve had a learning experience.

Knitting something new is a bit like having a new boyfriend. It’s a bit exciting, but you’re never quite sure how it’s going to end up. Will it work out? Will it be a good fit, after all of this time and worry that’s been dumped into it? You just won’t know until it’s all too late. Tell me that isn’t like the first week or so of dating.

Tags: , , ,

