Skip to content

knitroglycerine

a different kind of string theory

Okay, so this is not knitting related.

But I made pumpkin bread for the first time, and it came out so well that even my husband ate it. He’s not a sweets eater.

My mom had cleaned out her pantry and given me some cans of pumpkin puree, so I winged it. I figure the guilt of the butter is outweighed by the presence of whole wheat flour. What, no? Luckily, my kitchen experiment came out fantabulously!

Well, it'll be gone soon. . .

Mix together:

1 can pumpkin puree

2 eggs

1 c. brown sugar

1/2 tsp. each of cinnamon, five spice, and cardamom (or whatever floats yer boat)

1 capful vanilla

1/2 cube butter, melted (I like salted, but whatever)

Then stir in the dry stuff:

1 c. all-purpose flour

1 c. whole wheat flour

1 tsp. baking soda

dash of salt

Mix, mix, mix, then pour into a greased loaf pan and bake for about 55 minutes in a 375* oven. I’d be willing to bet that 350* would do, but my oven tends to run a tad cold. I think I’m supposed to get it calibrated or something. Anyway.

Then I made a glaze for it, because after tasting the batter, I could see it wasn’t going to be very sweet at all. I’d adapted the recipe from a banana bread recipe, and bananas have a lot more natural sugar. For the glaze, I simply mixed together about a cup and a half of powdered sugar, a half teaspoon of butter, zest of half a lemon, juice of half a lemon, and a splash of milk. After the bread cooled, I drizzled the glaze over it. It was pretty runny, so I just scooped it up again and redrizzled it, until it eventually stayed on the bread or was soaked up by it.

Even Iso likes it!

Tags:

