Skip to content

knitroglycerine

a different kind of string theory

I love Regretsy, and today while perusing the site I saw that they’re knitting prosthetic breasts for charity. I’d seen this idea in Bust a year or so ago, but I didn’t know how to use double-pointed needles. Technically, I guess I still don’t! But what I’m trying to say is that in the meantime, the way I view breast cancer changed. My mom has breast cancer.

The Regretsy site has some links for patterns, and I’m using this one from Knitty.

from Knitty

My mom has undergone her chemo already, and her hair is growing back. In January she had one breast removed, and reconstructive surgery is not something she sees as an option. I’m going to knit her a boob! I don’t know if she’ll wear it or not, as she’s supposed to be getting fitted for a silicone cutlet in the near future, but maybe she’ll want options? After that I’ll donate. But the first decent boob goes to my own mommala!

In addition to my mom, I know two other breast cancer survivors. How about you?

Tags: , ,

