Skip to content

knitroglycerine

a different kind of string theory

Actually, it’s more like self Fair Isle-ing yarn. I think it’s intended to be used for socks, but I’ve been making scarves. Of course. Because I’m lacking in scarves! I’m always on the hunt for the perfect red lipstick. There are so many perfect types of red lipstick, though, you know? The perfect dark red, red gloss, natural sheer red, glittery red, brown red, blue red… So the search is never over.

Scarves are similar.  You need a basic black, a fluffy one, a ruffled one, a lacy mohair one (I’ve yet to do mohair, though), a striped one, a heavy duty winter one, a springy one for when you’re sick of basic black and heavy duty winter. The list goes on!

Right now, I’m doing this one.

The yarn is the JoAnn’s brand, and I’m doing it on #4 needles. I have to finish this before I can start my necker! The problem with using sock yarn for scarves is that it rolls up, and you have to stick quite a border on it. I’m using a garter stitch border on the ends ( I did 1.5 inches at the end, but I should have made it longer, because it still flips up) and the sides (1.5 inches works just fine). This is version two, though. There was a first attempt.

Here is the first attempt:

It has a crocheted border, which looks a little goofy. The scarf’s also short, since I used so much yarn on the border to flatten it out! Luckily, my daughter was convinced from the start that the scarf was meant for her. It fits her perfectly.

But what I think is massively cool about both of these examples is not so much my scarf-attempts, and struggles with borders, but the self-striping/self-fair-isling! As long as you knit something sock-wide, you get a pretty pattern without ever having to actually do Fair Isle! It is lazy knitting, and I love it, because non-knitters think you’ve really accomplished something grand.

Tags: , , , ,

